My Cart: 0 item(s)

Info for Walk-in Customers
Introducing the new Berea 100 Club! Exclusive savings, offers, and more! CLICK HERE to join the club!
Product Search
Free Shipping On Orders Over $250 in U.S.* Click Here for Details
Product Search

Secure Checkout

Reviews


4.88
★★★★★ ★★★★★
213

Rate Product
1
2
2
1
3
2
4
23
5
312
Pages 1   2   3   4   5
Verified Buyer
My absolute favorite "thin" kit
5
Doug "DMac" MacMillan (Meridian, ID) | January 19th, 2023
Everyone seems to make a thin/7mm kit, but this one is definitely a cut above the rest. The build quality is great, and I REALLY like the click mechanism. There may be pen makers out there who like soft click pens that don't have a positive (and pronounced) CLICK when you actuate the mechanism, but I (and all the folks I've made pens for) are not among them. Click pens should CLICK. Full stop. Berea uses the all-metal Schmidt click mechanism, and I've decided that for any [click] pens I make going going forward, the first thing I'll look for in the details is whether or not it has a Schmidt metal mechanism. Are they more expensive? A little. Are they worth the difference? Absolutely. If you are making volume pens, and trying to hit a price-point, you might choose something else. But for anyone like me, trying to make the best possible pens, I do not think there is a better alternative. I REALLY wish I could upload pics of the pens I made. They were for a couple who wanted semi-matching pens, 7mm Click Pens. One in Gun Metal, the other in Black Chrome. Same blank (from Chris Wayne on Etsy, which are stunning), but one traditional with the pen matching the blank orientation (wood at both ends, acrylic in the middle), and other pen inverted. Both came out great, and the loved them. Thank you Berea folks for looking to provide high quality products, and not trying to hit the lowest possible price per kit. - DMac
Verified Buyer
Great kit! (when you follow the directions...)
5
Doug "DMac" MacMillan (Meridian, ID) | January 19th, 2023
I made this for my wife, and after a little hand-holding from the Berea crew, it turned out perfect. I've now ordered a bunch of these kits to make for other folks! After having made a variety of Berea pens, what I've learned is that the Berea folks go to great lengths to well document their instructions. Which, had I followed them, wouldn't have needed the aforementioned "hand-holding" from their great support staff. I had not encountered a kit that used a part of the brass tube as a "tenon", so I kind of skimmed over that part of the instructions (thinking it was like the other pens I'd made) and was stumped when I to the assembly part and read, this step, "8. Press the brass insert into the other end of the brass tube until it is flush.", and I didn't have any brass tube showing! Long story short, I've learned to now read everyone's instructions more thoroughly (slightly different instructions is not a Berea-specific thing...) Also, a very happy ending to this story. Not only did Berea guide me through my mistake, step-by-step (without any, "Ahem, did you even read the instructions?" tone in their voice), but I just noticed that they have also updated their instructions doc to clearly call out that there are two ways to approach this kit, and what to do for each option. - DMac A Happy Berea Customer!
Verified Buyer
This is a very well developed kit, and will be a perfect 70th B-Day gift!
5
Doug "DMac" MacMillan (Meridian, ID) | January 18th, 2023
Not only is the kit higher quality than many others out there, the Berea customer service is fast, friendly and super helpful. After trying kits from may sites, I've settled on only a few, with Berea at the top of the list.
Verified Buyer
sierra kits
5
James Dandy (DE) | January 17th, 2023
Berea sierra kits are excellent and easy to assemble
Bad ass
5
donovan L rakestraw (Kansas) | January 3rd, 2023
Love these kits. Love the fountain. The roller ball is the smoothest writer of all the pens I do. Great seller.
Great gift box, and crowd favorite!
5
Doug MacMillan (Meridian, ID!) | November 16th, 2022
I made a bunch of pens for Christmas gifts, so I needed some nice boxes to go with them. Since I wasn't sure what I wanted, I bought this one, the jumbo version of the same style, and about a dozen others from PSI and Woodcraft. I asked a few people to rate them all, and both of these boxes from Berea came out on top! Thanks Berea! - DMac
Verified Buyer
Hobbiest
5
Rod Keen (League City, TX) | October 30th, 2022
I find the Geta to be a simple, yet elegant design. the only change I would make is to have the clip already installed in the kit.
Verified Buyer
new york
5
chuck couture (west valley) | October 21st, 2022
excellent kit to work with. easy to get a good product from each kit
Mr
5
Dennis J (Waukesha, WI) | October 7th, 2022
This is a beautiful kit. Berea has added bling to the basic cigar pen. The look is very distinctive. The pen uses the same bushings as the other Berea cigar kits. The clip is a little tight but is easily fixed.
medical Pen
5
Carl (Delaware) | August 16th, 2022
Made 3 of these pens. Easy to turn and put together. Has odd size tubes, 11/32 drill bit. So don't mess up a tube, do not know where to get spare tubes as replacements.
Verified Buyer
Great add on Item
5
Paul Witmer (Barrie ON) | July 27th, 2022
Perfect for additional sales as well as gifting. Perfect for using cut offs as thr handle.
Verified Buyer
Great Pen Kit
5
Larry Marshall (VA) | July 26th, 2022
I just recently purchased and completed three of these kits. They are easy to turn and assemble. I did have a problem with one of the click assemblies but a call to customer support got a new on in the mail to me fast and this one worked good.
Verified Buyer
Elegant Sierra
5
Bob (LaCrosse, Wisc.) | July 20th, 2022
I have been turning pens for gifts since I began (2005). I only use the Elegant Sierra as this kit is easy to assemble and only requires one blank for the kit. It creates a beautiful pen and recipients love them. I like using a CA gluing process for finish.
Verified Buyer
Very nice Pen Boxes
5
Dwayne Wilson | July 14th, 2022
These are really nice Pen boxes, my customers love then. My only complaint is that I wish that they were a little bit bigger, but that is just my personal option. The turning around time with Berea is outstanding, I have only placed orders three different time but received then within three to four days once shipped. I will purchase these again.
Verified Buyer
Small Business Owner
5
Judy Clark (Victorville, CA) | July 6th, 2022
This is a beautiful box. The construction is excellent, and the wood is beautiful. The "Regular size" is a bit too small for the pens I make. It is certainly well worth the price and I will keep it in case I get an order for a slim-line or 7mm pen.
Verified Buyer
Small Business Owner
5
Judy Clark (Victorville, CA) | July 6th, 2022
Excellent construction, beautiful wood, and all my bullet-related pens fit nicely in the Jumbo box. I will purchase a large quantity (100) and put my high-end pens in the Jumbo size. Glad I found them. Excellent price, also.
Verified Buyer
Super Click
5
Mack Courtright (TX) | June 30th, 2022
This is very smooth operating pen and has become my favorite to make, single tube a breeze to turn
Verified Buyer
El Grande
5
Edward Samsen (Carlsbad, CA) | June 2nd, 2022
I love this kit. I have made more than a few of them over the past 10 or so years. I would have preferred the Titanium Gold but NLA. I have turned pens in both acrylic and hardwood. Gator Alley acrylic for USCG, They love it, Extremely easy to turn mostly straight cylinders for upper barrel and the cap. Fountain pen has a beautiful "old school "nib
Verified Buyer
Great Pen Kit
5
MikeO (Castleton, NY) | June 1st, 2022
Made a few of these as gifts to Firefighting Family members and show them my appreciation for their service. Great quality and detail.
Quality
5
Randall (TN) | April 14th, 2022
I selected this pen kit for a graduation gift. The quality was excellent and I am very satisfied. I will be purchasing more in the future!

Crafter Program


This program is a mix and match quantities for the best quantity price program. This applies to only kits and not to introductory kits or other products. Example: if you order 10 each of 6 kits you would pay the 60 quantity price for each kit rather then the 10 quantity price. A crafter regularly buys 50 to 150 kits at a time. The minimum purchase quantity per order is 50 kits. The maximum discount is the 100 price.

Berea Brand Quality

What does BereaBrand Quality mean?


Free Shipping Offer Details


Free standard shipping is eligible on all orders of $250.00 or more being shipped to addresses in the United States (now includes Alaska and Hawaii). Shipping / Taxes do not count toward the $250.00 qualification. Item(s) must equal up to $250.00 or more. There will be no special code to receive the free shipping but you must select FREE SHIPPING as the shipping option during checkout.

All standard shipping rates apply to Canada and orders outside the United States.

Walk-in Customers


Our showroom is now open by appointment. Please call 216-898-8956 in advance to book a time.

Convenient Contactless Lobby pick up is also available!

All orders placed will be available for pick up the next day in our lobby, from 10am to 3pm (all orders not picked up by 3pm will be available again the next day!)

When completing your order, please chose "Customer Pick up" option for shipping.

Upon arrival, please call our office at 216-898-8956 and one of our team members will bring your order out.

As always Thank You for your support and stay safe!

The Berea Hardwoods Company