My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
Free Shipping On Orders Over $100*
Product Search

Secure Checkout

Reviews


4.90
★★★★★ ★★★★★
189

Rate Product
5
175
4
12
3
0
2
1
1
1
Pages 1   2   3   4   5
Fitment issue
5
Zachary Acord (Dresden Maine) | September 24th, 2019
I really like the kit a lot but It’s needs work, many people have stopped buying this kit because of the clip issue. The ring on the clip is supposed to slide over the brass piece at the top of the pen and I can honestly say not 1 time has that worked without substantial sanding of said brass piece or filing of the clip ring. I like this kit a lot and so do many others but this needs correcting plz
Note From Store Owner: Hi Zachary, Thank you for your review. We believe you may be reading the instructions incorrectly. The clip will slide over the small end and not the large end. Hold the clip in place as you press this adaptor into the finial so it all lines up. Thannk you again for your review. The Berea Hardwoods Co. Inc.
Owner of Brian’s Wood Shop
5
Brian Short (Arcanum, Ohio) | September 23rd, 2019
I am very happy with the quality of the Pen Kits. They are easy to assemble. I can not make these fast enough for my customer’s!
Twist Bullet Pen
5
Ed Samsen (Carlsbad, CA) | September 23rd, 2019
Easy to turn pen....goes together easily. My favorites for this pen are gold/brass hardware with Desert Camouflage or a crushed velvet or similar red. Note I live 5 miles from Camp Pendleton so MARINES jump at these. I only wishthe Schmidt pencil insert worked without having to ream out part of the innards near the tip (very easy to ruin the tip.
El Grande RB/FP
5
Ed Samsen (Carlsbad, CA) | September 18th, 2019
I have turned more than a few of the ElGrande Roller Ball and Fountain penover the last 10 years. My first was on request for a fellow Docent aboard USS Midway. He liked the Classic FR I had done but wanted something even bigger....tried ElGrande, it hit the mark dead center. I used a fancy acrylic in Navy Blue and Gold for these. As a follow up a USCG Commander I know saw it she wanted a similar FP for signing certificates, she got it in Gator Alley aka USCG Blue and Orange. I really want a Letter Opener and Magnifier with this size grip but have to let a Flat Top stand in for now.
Note From Store Owner: Hi Ed, Thank you for your review. At one time we did have a letter opener that matched, which could also be converted to a magnifying glass however, due to the size there not many were interested in them. Thank you Again for your review. The Berea Hardwoods Co. Inc.
Owner
4
Malcolm (McMinnville, OR) | September 11th, 2019
Superior kit. I appreciated the very excellent directions. The appointment at the end of the cap, the death's head, made me wonder if they could do a chrome end piece that could accept large initials.
Owner
5
Malcolm (McMinnville, Or) | September 11th, 2019
This is an excellent kit. I appreciated the clarity of the directions. The cap is sich that the appointment that secures the clip to the barrel might be altered to accept chrome initials.
Owner
5
Malcolm (McMinnville, Oregon) | September 9th, 2019
Great Kit. Professional appointments and best instructions I ever read. You can get this right the first time. Anxious to see inlay when available.
CEO Koch Calls & Woodworking Studio, LLC
5
Malcolm L Koch (McMinnville, Oregon) | September 9th, 2019
I do not usually do this; but, I have to praise Berea. Very well designed. Elegant. Mostly I appreciated the instructions. Spot on. I am not an owner of a Knucklehead Harley. I have a former student in Harley School and I thought he needed a motivating gift. I would not have given him the one with a deaths' head on it, but preferred the Eagle appointment. Less likely to prejudice folks at Harley school. I looked at the cap appointment and immediately thought of a future design that would allow initials there.
Candle Snuffer
5
Gregg Miller (W Henrietta, NY) | September 2nd, 2019
This hardware is great for regular table candles and tapers, and should state the maximum size candle this is made for. I believe that there also needs to be one for larger candles in the 1-1/2" diameter range. I purchased this for use with 1-1/2" diameter candles, and the O.D. size of this snuffer barely meets the outside edge of a 1-1/2" candle. It works, but not to the extent that it should.
Premium Pizza Cutter
5
Alfred Floyd | August 10th, 2019
I have made five of these to use as gifts, birthdays and the like. The blade is sharp and made of stainless steel. The body of the pizza cutter is substantial. The 5/16 shaft fits into a threaded insert. This should be quite strong for those pizza lovers who put heavy pressure when cutting a pizza.
Disappointed
5
Bernadette Pasamba (Nyack) | August 2nd, 2019
I generally love Berea but I found this kit to be poorly crafted, and plan to return all of them.
Owner
5
Dan Neyens (Bonney Lake, WA) | July 31st, 2019
Very disappointed you no longer offer this product. I sold 50 at a recent art show. The Customers loved my custom handles. Please put back in stock! I need 100 units.
Mr.
1
Gary Irwin (Montgomery, Texas) | July 15th, 2019
in your description of the king wood pen blank it says you stock bowl blanks. When I searched for them it said no products found.
Note From Store Owner: Gary, thank you for your feedback. We can sympathise with you on the bowl blanks. We did carry them in the past. Unfortunately however, it is becoming quite difficult to get our hands on them due to import restrictions.
Verified Buyer
Lever action pen
5
Raymond Therrien (Rochester, N.H.) | April 18th, 2015
A winner all the way.Best quality I have seen yet.
Verified Buyer
Jar opener
5
Nolan Farmer (Lake Waukomis, MO) | September 3rd, 2015
Have made several everyone loves them.Easy to turn.
Verified Buyer
Fantastic craft show seller
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
This whistle key ring is one of my top 2 craft show sellers. They are extremely easy to make, particularly when you mount 3 or 4 at a time on a mandrel. I would recommend this item to anybody. At $10 each, they pay my booth rent at every show.If I could make one change, it would be to use a smooth ring instead of the faceted one. The faceted ring makes it easy to scratch the top of the ring attachment when installing the ring.
Verified Buyer
Decent seller; easy to make
4
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
Easy to make and fairly popular.
Verified Buyer
Pays for my booth at every show
4
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
Like it's cousin, the whistle key ring, these are one of my best sellers. They are extremely easy to make and sell almost instantly. If you are selling, the simple designs...straight, slight taper, slight "football" shape...sell just as well as fancy beading.The only reason for the 4 star rating instead of a 5 is that my last 100+ kits have had a sloppy fit that required epoxying of both ends. If you are building in quantity, you will seriously increase your production time, not to mention the mess caused by epoxy sometimes getting on the finish. Both gold and chrome, mainly the chrome, were so loose that they could be pushed together with gentle finger pressure. This was definitely NOT the case the first 2+ years I built these.
Verified Buyer
Gorgeous pen, and a very good seller.
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
This is the simplest pen you can build, period. If time is profit, this is profit. And if you are building as gifts, you can't go wrong with this kit.
Verified Buyer
Customers like the feel
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
As with the Sierra twist, this is a very nice pen. It is a bit larger (longer) than the regular Sierra, but it is every bit as easy to build. Plus, the ability to use a roller ball refill is a good selling point.Another high quality Berea Hardwoods product.

Crafter Program


This program is a mix and match quantities for the best quantity price program. This applies to only kits and not to introductory kits or other products. Example: if you order 10 each of 6 kits you would pay the 60 quantity price for each kit rather then the 10 quantity price. A crafter regularly buys 50 to 150 kits at a time. The minimum purchase quantity per order is 50 kits. The maximum discount is the 100 price.