My Cart: 0 item(s)

Product Search
Free Shipping On Orders Over $100*
Product Search

Secure Checkout

Reviews


4.90
★★★★★ ★★★★★
189

Rate Product
5
175
4
12
3
0
2
1
1
1
Pages 1   2   3   4   5
Verified Buyer
Very well balanced.
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
A nice mid-range pen that is easy to make and assemble.One of the reasons I use Berea for most of my craft show kits.
Verified Buyer
Great pen
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
Like it's roller ball cousin, this is a well balance pen that sells well for a fountain pen.The Euro style seems to sell much better than the Flat American style, at least for me.Never a fit problem as long as you follow directions, particularly for the cap ends.
Verified Buyer
Gorgeous slimline pen
5
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
This is my choice of Berea's 7mm kits. They are very easy to build, and the finished product looks "rich."
Verified Buyer
Attractive, and decent seller
4
Larry Pack (New London, OH) | October 1st, 2008
The all chrome kit is an attractive stopper. The only complaint I have had from customers is that the stopper did not fit some of their bottles (the reason for only 4 stars). I changed out bottom O-rings for a smaller thickness and they were happy.Hint...a bit of wax applied to the screw mandrel will help keep the blank from sticking on the mandrel while you turn.
Verified Buyer
Top Notch
5
Larry Fiebert (Massapequa Park, NY) | October 5th, 2008
I just had the opportunity to make a few of these fine pens. I used both the Titanuim Gold/Black and the Titanium/Platinum kits. I found the kits to be excellent. I turned the barrels with stabilized wood blanks,Dymondwood and crushed acrylic acetate blanks. It would be an understatement to say how pleased I am of the results. I do pen turning as a hobby and give them away as gifts. I have made quite a few people happy with these pens.In short, these kits are very elegant looking and make a distinctive and expensive looking pen. They are easy to make and you can turn 2 pens from one blank. At ten dollars per kit, it is also a great value.
Verified Buyer
The Cambridge hits the mark!
5
Mickey Turnbo (Bear, DE) | October 16th, 2008
Berea's attempt at a moderate cost high end pen is a success. The Cambridge is very high quality with a fine finish and a classic appearance. It may be a little large in diameter for the ladies but with the cap removed it's shorter length should make it more than acceptable. I found it very easy to work with and when used with a stabilized burl blank results in a quality high end pen.
Verified Buyer
Great Kit!
5
Gere Flick (Vermilion, OH) | October 16th, 2008
I make pens for a hobby (occasionally sell some.) This kit is easy to make and the final product is stunning! Espcially with burls. I also use the Corinthian band with this pen for a truly beautiful pen. I have tried other similar kits from other suppliers and they don't compare in quality.
Verified Buyer
Winner amoungst so many winners.
5
Butch Miller (woodland, wa) | November 3rd, 2008
I have been turning pens from Berea Hardwoods exclusively for over 10 years. I am quite confident in saying this is the easiest pen to turn and assemble with such an extremely high-end result. Quality of workmanship of all components are flawless. The ease of turning and assembling of this pen will bring instant success to anyone, even if it's your first pen.
Verified Buyer
Matching pencil.
5
Bill Gracher (Auburn Hills, Mich.) | November 12th, 2008
The pen is great. Good looking and smooth to operate. I have several requests for this pen but when asked if they could get a matching pencil I have to say no. This is a shame as I think they would make a great set. Please advise if you plan on offering a pencil kit to match and I will be the first to order.
Verified Buyer
Elegant presentation
5
James Mitchell (Columbus, GA) | November 23rd, 2008
I have now used perhaps 100 of these boxes and am ordering more today. They are great! and the price is worth every penny because of the added value to any pen.
Verified Buyer
Beautiful Kits
5
David Kleiner (Delray Beach, FL) | December 2nd, 2008
Easy to make and really Elegant. Well worth the money.
Verified Buyer
Spectacular!
5
Jim Pyle (Mentor , Ohio) | December 31st, 2008
I've just completed a pen using this material and the richness and color of the finished product are among the finest I have ever seen. This is one of the nicest pens I have ever made!Jim
Verified Buyer
Best tool ever designed
5
Stephen Malone (Enfield, Ct.) | January 11th, 2009
acually this tool has been around for awhile and I've been using it in every application of turning wood. This tool also cuts extreamly well on hardwood. The cutting part of this tool doesn't require changing the surface cut area for very long periods of time, even on hardwood. I have a 3/8 inch. and 3/4 inch dia. cutting tool.
Verified Buyer
Satin Chrome and Chrome version is versatile!
5
Bruce Avilla (Fayetteville, TN) | April 3rd, 2009
This entire Berea Elegant Beauty line is a stunning addition to the Sierra-style pen family, but the Satin Chrome and Chrome version is particularly appealing because it enhances a wide variety of pen blank styles. This is the version with the satin "grip" portion, and presents a very classy look with just about any blank it's used on. The quality for the price for these chrome kits is unmatched with any other Sierra style kit - and customers seem to gravite to the entire Elegant Beauty line whenever they see them. They have a distinctive stylish flair that elevates any acrylic or wood blank to an "art" object. If you haven't tried the Chrome versions, don't hesitate - they look super!
Verified Buyer
Parabolic cut is fabulous
5
Peter Moonen (Vancouver, BC) | April 23rd, 2009
My sister bought one of these for me and brought it to canada last month. I had been using regular twist bit or brad points. No more.Drilling into endgrain is a snap with these drills, even in really dense woods like jatoba and tigerwood. The bore hole is really smooth, the chip clearing ability is incredible and I find I don't need to drill in small increments in order to clear chips and keep heat down. Plus, I have never had a bottom blow out while getting near the bottom.
Verified Buyer
Uncle Ronnie
5
Ronald J. Geraci (Burbank, California) | June 16th, 2009
WOW!! What easy material to work with. I bought 4 colors and made fountain pens and a rollerball. They had very little material between the brass tube and the Instavue material, AND, as advertised the brass does not show through the material. The final shine is perfect. I'll know how they are accepted at a 3 day show the last week end of June.
Verified Buyer
Elegant beauty says it all!!
5
S. Rooney (Wichita Falls, Tx) | June 27th, 2009
I started purchasing these kits a few months ago and they are a hit with my customers. With this kit design, it gives them a more feminine style than the regular sierra. And to add to all of that, the awesome plating that they made in really stands out! Affordable, beautiful, and easy to turn, it doesn't get any better than that. Thank you Berea Hardwoods for such a great pen!!
Verified Buyer
Great Polish
5
Sam Scalzo (Tucson,AZ, AZ) | September 18th, 2009
I have used this polish for quite sometime now. It is excellent on plastics. You will be pleased with the results.
Verified Buyer
pen finishing with micro mesh.
5
Jeffrey Hanlin (Irwin, PA) | October 6th, 2009
I have used this product for the last 3 years and find it excellent for a smoothing and polishing medium on all my pen creations. Some of the more oily and finer grained wood appears to not need a finish when done. Cocobolo and olive wood are 2 of these. Make a good transition from fine lathe tooling and you should have no problems.
Verified Buyer
Elegant Beauty
5
Garland Smith (Half Moon Bay, CA) | December 3rd, 2009
Pen making has been my hobby for several years. Of all the pens I've made, none can compare to the Sierra Elegant Beauty. The design oozes style and class, and just about any blank goes well with it. The pens I make are given as gifts, and the Elegant Beauty gets, by far, more glowing comments than any other pen.

Crafter Program


This program is a mix and match quantities for the best quantity price program. This applies to only kits and not to introductory kits or other products. Example: if you order 10 each of 6 kits you would pay the 60 quantity price for each kit rather then the 10 quantity price. A crafter regularly buys 50 to 150 kits at a time. The minimum purchase quantity per order is 50 kits. The maximum discount is the 100 price.